Currency switcher with next.js

javascript
currencies

I have a test Moltin store with GBP, EUR and USD and a few products on the store with the prices setup in these currencies.

I cannot find anywhere in docs.moltin.com that talks about switching currency. Is this an API thing or can I set something in my next app to get the correct currency.

(sorry if this is a dumb question, i’m new to react/next/moltin)

Hi @wrux

When you create a product, you can add multiple prices per currency.

When you make a request to get your product, you’ll get in the response the prices array.

"price": [{
  "amount": 5891,
  "currency": "USD",
  "includes_tax": true
}]

You could on the frontend have a global currency that can control what price is displayed. You’d still have to set a default price for SSR support.

Thaknks for the reply.

With regards to creating a switcher, what is the best way to do this? I don’t think I understand fully the basics of React so I think i’m missing something here.

I can set: localStorage.getItem('customerCurrency') and then change this value when the user clicks EUR/USD/GBP but I guess this isn’t the best way to do it.

Can you give some recommendations on the best way to create the switcher?

I have uploaded my code to here & there’s probably loads of stupid mistakes and bad code but i’ve only been usiing react for about 10 days now:

https://bitbucket.org/wrux/mech/src/master/

Hi @wrux

You’ll want to avoid using localStorage if you wish server render your products in multiple currencies.

If you’re new to React, without going into too much detail I’d recommend that you looked at how i18n is handled with Next.js - The repo below should help…

The concept is pretty much the same but for simplicity sake in regards to currency, I’d store this in Redux and then adjust my views to display the correct price.

If you have the following global state:

{
  "selectedCurrency": "EUR"
}

You could in your view do something like…